Superfast Essex

Broadband Champions

Superfast Essex is recruiting a team of Broadband Champions across the county to be community ambassadors for the Superfast Essex programme sharing updates and information about what is happening in local neighbourhoods. We would like our Broadband Champions to be a voice in their local community passing on local updates about plans in their area, or encouraging people to register their demand for faster broadband via our Make the Connection Survey. It might mean sending an email to your parish council, asking your local shop to put up a notice about an event, sharing our posts on social media, or simply talking to your neighbour in the street.

Our current Broadband Champions are listed below. There are still quite a few areas we are keen to find a Broadband Champion for!

If your area is not currently listed and you would like to be a Broadband Champion please let us know by completing this short online registration form. A member of the Superfast Essex team will then contact you to confirm your request to become a Broadband Champion has been received.


Parish/Town/Village District First Name  Second Name Email
Abberton and Langenhoe  Colchester  Chris de Courcy-Bower
Abbess Beauchamp and Berners Roding Epping Forest Les Worley
Asheldham Maldon Nigel Whiting  nigelwhiting@tiscali.co.uk
Ashingdon Rochford Richard Nunn
Belchamp St Paul and Belchamp Otten Braintree Robin Lock
Berden Uttlesford Duncan Murdoch duncanmurdoch@moult-walker.co.uk
Birdbrook Braintree Steve Rhenius
Bishops Stortford  Uttlesford Mick Pitcher mick.pitcher@btinternet.com
Blackmore Brentwood Robert Oldnall
Boreham  Chelmsford  Raymond  Worley
Bowers Gifford and North Benfleet Basildon Christine Barlow clerkbgnbparishcouncil@gmail.com
Boxted  Colchester  Mally Stearn
Bradfield Tendring Karen Thompson
Bradfield Tendring Richard Scott
Bradwell-on-Sea Maldon Samantha Richardson samhunt17@btinternet.com
Braintree Central (Ward) Braintree Kathy Brown
Braintree South (Ward) Braintree Peter Hircock peterh42@hotmail.co.uk
Brentwood Brentwood Steven Shephard
Bulmer Braintree Mike Crome
Bulmer Braintree Peter  Fulcher gozna@greenbee.net
Channels housing development Chelmsford Tom Butler tom_butler@btopenworld.com 
Chappel  Colchester Kern Herskind Nightingale
Chignall Chelmsford Linda Nelson
Chignall Chelmsford Steve Middleditch
Chrishall Uttlesford Steven Parish
Chrishall & Duddenhoe End Uttlesford Malcolm Ingham
Clavering Uttlesford Ben Gill
Coggleshall Colchester Geoff Heaton
Cold Norton Maldon Maria Dyer
Colne Engaine Braintree Ian Messenger messenger.ian@gmail.com 
Copford Colchester Graham Barney
Cressing Braintree Thomas Howard tdh32@hotmail.co.uk
Cutlers Green Uttlesford Karen Westlake Karen.w@fsmail.net 
Danbury Chelmsford Adrian Clements  info@lisltd.co.uk
Dedham Colchester Kevin Taylor
Doddinghurst Brentwood Gerry Smith
Duddenhoe End Uttlesford Brian Barker
Earls Colne Braintree Paul Clarry 
East Mersea Colchester Paul Ramsey paul_ramsey@lineone.net 
Eastwood, Leigh-on-sea Southend-on-Sea Gerald  Mance geraldmance@sky.com
Eight Ash Green  Colchester Liam OBrien liamobrien4@hotmail.com 
Elmstead Market Tendring Marc Mannings marc_mannings@hotmail.com 
Epping Epping Forest David Stokes
Farnham Uttlesford Peter Jarman
Flitch Green Uttlesford Stephen Crawford steve.crawfordhome@gmail.com 
Ford End Chelmsford Roger Stephenson
Fryerning Brentwood Paul Martin Paul@gpemartin.com
Galleywood Chelmsford John Turkentine
Galleywood  Chelmsford  Anthony McQuiggan
Gestingthorpe  Braintree  Stephen Bolter
Goldhanger  Maldon  Julia Bourn
Good Easter Chelmsford Maurice Bailey
Grays Thurrock Theresa  Morris theresa@email.it
Great Bentley  Tendring  Gary  Woodward woody52@sky.com
Great Bromley Tendring Neil Skinner nrs@brooktye.co.uk
Great Canfield  Uttlesford Ginny  Barlow  ginny.barlow224@gmail.com
Great Dunmow Uttlesford Trudi Hughes
Great Easton  Uttlesford  Paul  Kelly
Great Hallingbury  Uttlesford Ben Tubby btubby@gmail.com 
Great Hallingbury  Uttlesford E Salomon broadband@three33.com
Great Notley Braintree Peter Wadumbuhl peter.wadumbuhl@gmail.com
Great Waltham Chelmsford Paul Braisby
Great Waltham Chelmsford Mike Steel
Halstead Braintree Keith Grinsted
Hatfield Broad Oak  Uttlesford Mark Strutt mark@broadoak.net 
Hatfield Heath Uttlesford Mel Sullivan
Helions Bumpstead Braintree Martin Catchesides martin@catchesides.co.uk
Hempstead Uttlesford Martyn Long
Henham Uttlesford Faye Roth fayeroth2010@gmail.com 
Henham Uttlesford Elaine Randall elainerandall941@hotmail.com
Herongate and Ingrave Brentwood David Harman david.harman@dsl.pipex.com
Hockley Rochford Steve Chelmsford
Horsley Cross/Mistley Tendring D Williams Jastars@hotmail.co.uk 
Howe Green Chelmsford Joanne Bender joanne.bender@btinternet.com
Kelvedon Braintree Paul Penny paulpenny98@mac.com 
Kelvedon Hatch Brentwood Richard North
Laindon Thurrock Daniel  Penson danpenson@talk21.com 
Langdon Hills Basildon Nikki Mifsud
Langford Maldon Vicky Anfilogoff
Langley Uttlesford Mike North
Layer-de-la-Haye Colchester Mark Jones
Layer Marney Colchester Elsie Chapman e.m.chapman@btinternet.com
Leaden Roding Uttlesford Raymond  Bell
Lindsell Uttlesford Jez Thorpe Jez@rainbow.me.uk 
Lindsell  Uttlesford Matthew Breeze
Little Bromley Tendring Graeme Knott
Little Easton Uttlesford Adrian Hoodless
Little Easton Uttlesford Sue Gilbert
Little Easton Uttlesford Jackie Deane
Little Hallingbury Uttlesford  Gary  Davey  garydavey@hi-five.org.uk 
Little Yeldham Braintree Jane  Lushington 
Littlebury Green Uttlesford Lachlan French lachlanfrench@btinternet.com
Loughton Epping Forest Michael James michael29james@btinternet.com
Manuden  Uttlesford  Alan Stoyell alan.stoyell@gmail.com
Margaret Roding Uttlesford Ian Crisp
Matching Epping Forest Joan Bowerman
Mile End  Colchester  Martin Goss
Moreton, Fyfield & The Lavers (Ward)  Epping Forest  Tony Boyce
Morris Green, Sible Hedingham Braintree Graham Bell grahamcbell@btinternet.com 
Mundon Maldon Bill Hollis
North Weald Epping Forest Stuart Bonnell STUARTBONNELL@GMAIL.COM 
Parsons Heath/St Johns  Colchester Scott Gardner Scott@scott-gardner.uk 
Pebmarsh  Braintree  Roger Cuthbert
Pentlow Braintree Julian Calver
Pleshey Chelmsford Brad Hounsom
Pleshey Chelmsford Philip Wilson philiprawilson71@gmail.com 
Quendon & Rickling  Uttlesford  Tom Duncan tdd@debdenduncans.plus.com 
Radwinter  Uttlesford  Pete Fitch
Ramsden Bellhouse Basildon Richard Wellbourne rawellborne@btopenworld.com
Ramsden Heath Chelmsford Pat Phen p.chandrruangphen@btinternet.com
Rayne Braintree Don Smith don_smith@msn.com
Roxwell  Chelmsford  Mark Page
Roydon Epping Forest Paul Dunn
Roydon Epping Forest Mark Jones
Saffron Walden Uttlesford John Sullivan johnsullivan27@gmail.com
Salcott Colchester Nicola Morrall nicolamorrall@gmail.com 
Sandon  Chelmsford  Richard Mbonye
Shenfield Brentwood Robert Mansfield bob@bobmansfield.com
South Fambridge (Ashingdon) Rochford Ron Weston
South Hanningfield Chelmsford Philip Owers owersphil@yahoo.co.uk
South Weald Brentwood Helen McNeilly hmcneilly@sky.com 
Southchurch Southend-on-Sea Stuart Smith Fibre4pegasus@gmail.com 
Southminster Maldon Diane Defontaine
St Lawrence Maldon Marian Elsden
St Osyth  Tendring Ray Crosier Rayss@hotmail.co.uk  
Stambourne  Braintree Steve Platt me@stephenplatt.com 
Stambridge Rochford Mark  Ellis mark.ellis106@googlemail.com 
Stanford Rivers Epping Forest Turgut Saridja
Stanway Colchester Paul Rogers
Stapleford Abbotts Epping Forest John Farren
Stebbing  Uttlesford  Greg King
Stisted  Braintree  Alan Reeder
Sturmer Braintree Paul  Smith pauljsmith@btconnect.com
Takely Uttlesford Michael Joyce MichaelJoyceMA@hotmail.com
Terling and Fairstead Chelmsford Colin Cutler emk331v-superfastessex@yahoo.co.uk
Thaxted Uttlesford  Andrew  Frater
Thorpe-le-Soken Tendring  James Ewart info@saddlemews.co.uk
Tillingham Maldon Diane Defontaine
Tolleshunt D'arcy Maldon Ron Dent
Ugley Uttlesford Andy Skelton andyskelton@btinternet.com
Ulting Maldon Vicky Anfilogoff
Vange Basildon Paul Webb paul@thecomputercentre.co.uk
Wakes Colne Colchester Howard Walkden howard.walkden@btopenworld.com
Walton on the Naze Tendring Kathryn Hoyles gordonandblossom@me.com
Weeley Heath Tendring Steve Went sjwenty@aol.com 
West Bergholt Colchester Phillip Edwards
Wethersfield  Braintree Cliff Stevens crstevens@live.co.uk 
White Ash Green  Braintree Ian Pleasance ian@planetbuilders.co.uk 
White Colne Braintree Jim Bond MBE jim@jimbond.me.uk 
White Notley Braintree Jayne Cook jayne.cook@simmons-simmons.com 
White Notley Braintree Paul McCudden
White Roding Uttlesford Mark Brash
Wickham Bishops Maldon Peter Bates
Wickham St Paul  Braintree Steve Handley
Witham Braintree Robert Chasmer superfastessex@chasmer.com
Wix Tendring Kerry Mitchell
Woodham Ferrers & Bicknacre Chelmsford Adrian  Clements  support@lisltd.co.uk
Woodham Mortimer Maldon Taj  Johal  ts.johal@live.co.uk
Woodham Walter Maldon Jacky Bannerman
Wormingford Colchester Andy Boyce
Writtle  Chelmsford   Rosalind  Coleridge  coleridgehouse@msn.com 

tdh32@hotmail.co.uk